General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Old 08-27-2015, 12:36 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Electrical System
Print Wikipost

2007 CAMRY V6 oxygen sensor

Old 06-26-2010, 03:42 PM
Default 2007 CAMRY V6 oxygen sensor

Just got back from autozone, seems my Camry, with only 27K miles on it has a very upset O2 sensor, BANK 2 SENSOR 2. I have just spent n hour trying to locate this online,, as I am not a mechanic but want to replace it myslef. This is a leased car, due back in one month (if it wasnt for baad luck...) so don't feel like getting abused by Toyota stealership.
Can anyone tell me exact location of Bank 2 Sensor 2? Also, I've read from several different sources this is one instance where you should really go OEM (BOSCH AND DENKO apparently aren't well received by TOyota ECM). Has anyone else heard the same? And lastly, going on the pretense I absolutely cannot get under the car, is this doable for an mechanically inclined, intelligent, patient guy with tools?
OBD CODES P0057 and P0161.
Sincerest thanks for ANY help
Adam

P.S. the CEL came on during nonstop driving in 100deg heat, 5hrs, full AC

Old 06-27-2010, 01:48 AM
Super Moderator

This would be the 2nd sensor (Sensor 2) on the exhaust pipe coming from the cylinder head closest to the radiator (cylinder head Bank 2).

Typically these parts are warrantied for 36M/36K, and maybe longer in states such as California. If you have the owners manual read the emissions warranty portion.

The repair is doable but you will need to get under the engine to access the exhaust pipe.

If shopping for dealer Toyota parts try www.1sttoyotaparts.com for discount parts.

Bosch appears to have issues along with using universal sensors. Might ask at the Toyotanation website for sensor brand recommendations other then Toyota.

Old 06-27-2010, 09:55 AM