General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

90 Camry DX A/T tried to move during startup

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2011, 07:37 PM
Default 90 Camry DX A/T tried to move during startup

I've never experienced this before with any car and am hoping someone has an idea...

This afternoon, about 30 minutes after my wife got home (she drove the Camry to work) I went out and started the car. For a brief second, the car attempted to lurch forward. Craziest thing I've ever seen a car do.

I shut the car down, confirmed it was in park and restarted. It did not happen again. A/T fluid was replaced about 300 miles ago and it has only happened this once. We purchased the car just 40 miles prior to having the fluid changed so I have no previous experience with this car beyond that.

The car only moved an inch or two but it was pretty freaky, considering the potential "What-if" scenarios, were this to happen in the garage or in a parking lot, etc.

Has anyone ever experienced this or have any ideas as to the cause? there are no A/T fluid leaks that I have found and the fluid level looks good on the dipstick.

Old 06-15-2011, 07:46 PM

no experience like this. almost wow.

maybe the car thought you were still the wife and had finally gotten up the courage to show displeasure at her driving style ...

SInce this occured suggest that you / wife chiggle the shift column once you turn on the ignition, but before engaging the starter.

Bet two things here: 1) you already thought of that, and 2) it won't happen again.

luck

Old 06-15-2011, 09:23 PM
Super Moderator

There may be some drag on the internal trans components. If the trans really is in Park unless something broken the shift valves will not have the internal trans parts engaged in any forward or reverse gear.