General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

98 camry help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2007, 12:57 AM
Default 98 camry help!

Have I got the compendium of issues....

I am a noob to TN and have a 98 4 cylinder AT, with 123k on it. I bought it at 121k and couldnt be happier with the previous owner because she kept just about every receipt for the car including purchasing papers.

I am going to be moving to florida in the next 3 weeks and need to take care of my camry issues before i am 1000 miles away from any of my tools. The problems are as follows:

1. It is extremely hot and humid in florida especially when im going to be going there and i believe i am having some minor (hopefully) AC issues. When i turn the AC on the car makes a whinning sound especially on acceleration and i believe it to be coming from the compressor, I checked the sight glass and it goes between totally clear and a milky smokey opaque color. I thought it was due to not enough refrig being in the system so I put more in, then the compressor constantly clicked on and off and once in awhile made a rubbing sound. According to my gauge it was a lil above 50psi at 90 degrees F outside, so i released some refrig (r134?) and now its back to where it was with the whinning sound and milky color. My question is will i need to replace the compressor soon? or is there anything i can do to remedy it? or is this just natural for a 98 camry with a 4 cylinder engine? on top of that will it drag down my MPG significantly?