General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Confusing No Start Condition

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2012, 08:17 AM
Default Confusing No Start Condition

First, I am a noob to this board, but I did perform a search with no luck on the specifics of the event I am about to describe.

My wife's 2000 Camry with a 2.2L with 107K has been sitting for a few days. I started it up and it immediately died out. When I attempted to restart, the starter had no resistance as if there was no compression. I am thinking rings, head gasket, or timing belt (original) at this point. I cranked it over several times and noticed that it started trying to catch, even though the starter still had no resistance. I held the throttle at ~1/4 open and the engine roughly caught and then starting running like normal with no noticeable skipping. I then turned to car off and started it again. This time the starter sounded normal and the engine fired as it normally does.

I did this several times and each time, the engine started and the starter sounded normal. I put some pressure on it with the brakes (car in gear) with no issues. Drove into town with no issues and it has started fine ever since.

The catch is that when this happened, I was the only one home so there was no one to tell me whether or not the serpentine belt was spinning.

My wife says that sometimes it does that when the car sits for a while, but she had not noticed what the starter sounded like.

The car does lose a good bit of oil (quart every month or so), but does not burn oil. There is a leak on the oil pan, but not enough to even leave a puddle on the ground when it sets.

That being said, is it possible that the oil is leaking around the cam and/or crank sensors and pooling when the car sets causing the sensor(s) to foul? If so, how could this explain the starter sounds?

Any thoughts?

Old 12-20-2012, 11:04 AM
Super Moderator