General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Fuel Injection system: Cleaner

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2009, 08:06 PM
Default Fuel Injection system: Cleaner

This forum has been a source of immense help when I posted questions earlier, I am back again. 1990 Toyota Camry (V6 engine 2.5L 100K miles) just had a oxygen sensor and catalytic converter replaced. Was told by mechanic that my fuel injection systems needs cleaning.

Question: What is the best method (without spending a lot of money of course):

1. Manual cleaning by mechanic (what does this cost?)

2. Addition of cleaner in fuel tank? (a) how efficient is this (b) which cleaner should I use (googling gives names of Seafoam, Berryman Chemtool fuel treatment etc) (c) What should I be aware of when I try a do-it-yourself cleaning?

3. Any other methods (like http://www.auto-rx.com/)? Are these added to the engine oil or the fuel tank?

As you understand, I am a newbie, any help much appreciated.

Thanks, Leroy

Old 06-08-2009, 03:33 PM
Default ...

No one?

Old 06-12-2009, 03:38 AM

These forums are a bit slow, but worth the wait- it's the only one I have bothered to register on, in fact. Seafoam didn't help me, but Lucas did- my economy jumped a few mpg's after that first treated tank was used, and since then I have made sure to use only midgrade fuel, though many argue that a Camry doesn't know the difference. Mine did. My injectors are likely still a bit gummy, but perform beautifully for having 152,000 on them. What I did, and it works for me so far;
Castrol Syntech 10/30 every *3* months, with Gunk engine flush before, and Lucas synthetic stabilizer after, with a Bosch Premium filter....
Lucas fuel treatment every four or so tanks, or three months, and Shell or Mobil midgrade.