New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

Changes Fixes to my camry

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2015, 02:04 PM
Default Changes Fixes to my camry

I have been driving 2005 XLE for 2 years now and its a 150k.
Now that i need to drive around 1500 miles every month i went for a 2 tire change and need to change another couple soon.
I had the car verified by TirePlus and a local auto shop ..I am worried with what they came up.

SHOCKS AND STRUTS (Front-Both) - 980
RIGHT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM - 500
ENGINE MOUNT - 360
2 tires - 200
Rear Brakes - 370

Should i really invest so much? I am thinking of buying stuff online myself or at the store and get it fixed by a local auto vendor.

What do u think guys?

Old 10-03-2015, 05:46 PM

That is a lot of money... but it would keep your Camry on the road for that much longer. Can you do any of the work yourself? Mechanic friends nearby? Maybe get a second opinion on the required repairs?

Old 10-03-2015, 05:58 PM

Originally Posted by richj11
That is a lot of money... but it would keep your Camry on the road for that much longer. Can you do any of the work yourself? Mechanic friends nearby? Maybe get a second opinion on the required repairs?
Yeah checked with couple got a good guy finally told my breaks can go for another two months.
The shock/strut is needed it seems said would cost 700 so looks like a better deal ... Thinking about it

Old 10-05-2015, 12:21 AM
Super Moderator

I've purchased parts before (struts/springs) and brought them to a local shop who did the work and it cost me about $150 for all four installed.
I replaced my front brakes a while ago and I went on the cheap! There is a seller on eBay, Brakemotive, and I am very happy with the rotors and pads that I received. Everything fit perfectly and it was under $100 for the two rotors and pads.
I'm just wondering if you can show up with your own parts...

Old 10-05-2015, 10:44 AM

Originally Posted by Patonium