Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

Need advice for installing an amp.

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2008, 04:41 AM
Default Need advice for installing an amp.

Hello, I am new to this forum. I was wondering if anyone could help me with this. I am going to put a JL 500/1 amp in my car. It is a 500 watt regulated amp (500 watts at 1,2, or 4 ohms). I know the rule is 1 farad for every 1000 watts, but will I need a capacitor for this amp? I heardthe amp isunderrated(possibly 600 or 700 watts)and from what I believe the alternator is 80 amps. I'm not an electrical engineer so I don't know how to deem whether or not it will draw more power than required from my alternator. Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Old 02-16-2008, 01:55 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Need advice for installing an amp.

Depends on how much current you draw. As a rule of thumb determine the currant draw by checking the fuse ratings of all the accessories in the car then take 60% of this load. Add in the current required for the amp (check the amps fuse rating, if 2 fuses add in each fuse).

With this is determined compare to the alternator output. If higher then the alternator rating you can have a problem.

Once the system is hooked up determine if the headlights are dimming slightly and quickly with major bass notes, periods of brief high volume or the bass sounds funny, if so a capacitor can help bridge the brief currant draw. If you end up having issues such as constantly dim lights, strange electrical problems, dead battery, poor sounding bass, etc, you will need a higher output alternator.

The JL website still has some info on this amp under their disconnected section.

mobile.jlaudio.com

Old 02-24-2008, 11:05 PM

first of all an capacitor does nothing to help an system whatsoever it just puts more strain on ur alternator and make it do more work.