Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   Audio/Visual Electronics (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-11/)
-   -   Replacing my 2008 Camry factory radio. (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-11/replacing-my-2008-camry-factory-radio-38239/)

lexingtondover 03-21-2011 04:30 PM

Replacing my 2008 Camry factory radio.
 
Hi, my factory radio display is going haywire, so I am going to buy a used replacement for it.

A few people online have said I will need some sort of connection code from the dealer when I replace my factory radio unit with a used factory radio?

Anyone heard of this? I really don't want to pay the dealer to type in a number for me.

- J

full house 03-21-2011 07:54 PM

if that is true, maybe you can some free code online...

toyomoho 03-22-2011 12:09 AM

Years ago some Toyota radios had a built in security system, not sure about newer models.

If the power was cut to the radio and a security code set by the owner (setting the security system was an option for the owner) the security system would prevent the radio from powering up again until a code was entered. These radios had something written on their face plate indicating it had some type of theft prevention or security system.

If you buy a used factory radio and it has this security feature make sure the code is not set (the owner could set the code or not) or it comes with the code. The Toyota dealer can reset the code (and maybe other third parties) but they will charge for this.

EricB 04-03-2011 11:00 AM

I would suggest taking it to a dealer. That sounds like something I personally wouldn't want to mess with.

Best of luck

alexanderc 04-13-2011 02:02 AM

yeah, some dealers, if they are nice, will give you the code from your vin #. Some charge though, so shop around
http://mazdd.com/yes/signature.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands