Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

wiring for a new radio

  #1  
Old 01-21-2016, 02:15 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Question wiring for a new radio

Hello,

Im installing a Pioneer FH-X721BT radio in my 2006 Toyota Camry (I think LE? its got the fake spoiler thing on the back with leather heated seats). I have Metra wiring harness (70-8113) and a sterring wheel control interface (ASWC-1) and of course a dash kit to make it fit properly. So i'm trying to understand how to wire the harness and sterring wheel control together and the AXXESS integration sheet says that I need to connect wires to the 20 pin connector, a wire to a 12 volt accessory and one to the chassis ground. So im wondering if I am just supposed to splice into those wires? for the voltage one, do I just splice into that aswell? and lastly the ground, what would be a good ground for me to connect to and how do I do that (is there an existing ground wire that I can just splice into aswell?)?

Im new to this kind of stuff, so please do explain in detail..

Hopefully this makes sense... Thanks for the help!
 
  #2  
Old 01-21-2016, 07:44 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PTW
Posts: 11,738
Default

Did you get the right harness? This depends on navigation and JBL stereo options the car has.
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-2016, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ipswich QLD australia
Posts: 543
Default

..not sure why you need to splice or joins wires there

ask at the place you bought the kit

most after market head systems for the cars today
have what they call plug and play wiring looms provided in the fitting kits
specific to that year and make of vehicle ..already sorted for you
just plug them into the vehicle plug connections
including models with steering wheel controls


i can only help with the 2006 camry factory wiring
2006 Toyota Camry Car Audio Wire Diagram
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-2016, 08:50 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Now that I look at this a second time, I don't think that I bought the right harness... The one that I bought has Amplifier intergration, and as far as I know, my car does not have a factory amplifier.. but when I get the right one, do I still need to connect the wires between the harness and the one that came with the radio?
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-2016, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ipswich QLD australia
Posts: 543
Default

check this first 2006 camry amp location

Car Stereo Amp Trigger Wire: Pink/Blue
Car Stereo Amplifier Location: Located to the right of the glovebox behind the passenger side of the dash.

the plug and play harness goes between the two

one end the cars old plug in the console and the other end onto the plug you new unit

you check everything works dont forget the antenna plug
then all the wiring tucks in out of the way behind the radio during install
 

Last edited by dirty hands; 01-22-2016 at 10:23 PM.
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Dylan
Audio/Visual Electronics
1
08-31-2010 11:54 AM
y2kwht150
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
07-26-2009 02:03 PM
matt
ECU & Electronics
1
11-04-2007 01:57 AM
8thman
ECU & Electronics
0
04-24-2006 05:47 PM
8thman
New Member Area
0
04-22-2006 11:05 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: wiring for a new radio


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.