Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   DIY - Do It Yourself (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/diy-do-yourself-22/)
-   -   1990 Camry Possible Water Damage (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/diy-do-yourself-22/1990-camry-possible-water-damage-40799/)

neurobio760 07-06-2012 03:05 PM

1990 Camry Possible Water Damage

What's up fellow camry enthusiasts,

I am a complete novice when it comes to fixing cars, but I would like to learn and I figured the most recent issue with my car would be a good place to start. I have a 1990 camry with a 2.5L V6 engine, which I took to a friend for an oil change and maintenance check. All was well until he thoroughly pressure washed everything the under the the hood and underneath the car, and afterwards my car would turn over, but not start. After some drying the car started, but was sputtering along in an odd way and when idling the engine pulsated. He also tightened the screw on a piece that i do not know the name of, but it sits on top of a metal coil and when you press down on it the engine revs. We figured something might just be wet so we let it sit in front of my house for a day, and upon trying to start it this morning it would again turn over but not completely start. I feel it's pretty safe to assume that the water has either caused some sort of damage or knocked something loose, but I was wondering where I should begin to check or if any of you could pinpoint the problem based off of the information given. Any help is appreciated and thanks in advance.

-Brandon

neurobio760 07-06-2012 03:08 PM

Follow Up

Also, the car has a small oil leak from the engine due to the previous owner driving up a curb while drunk, and the transmission has been replaced, but this has not yet caused any complications.

toyomoho 07-06-2012 10:01 PM