DIY - Do It Yourself Within you will find how-to's on many aspects of modding and caring for your ride as told by your fellow members.

blown engine

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2015, 08:53 PM
Default blown engine

I am new to Toyotas. I bought a 97 4 banger with just 124,000 on it over the summer and it threw a rod out of the blue a few weeks ago. It was full of oil and never gave a hint of problems until wham!!

Is this common for these cars? Should i get a used engine or get a rebuilt one?

Thanks

Old 04-08-2015, 10:13 PM
Super Moderator

Throwing a rod is uncommon. Typical causes are running low or out of oil and hot rodding.

A used engine is cheaper which is what most people do. The engine was used from 1992-2001, however Toyota made changes over years. Try to find one of the same year and emissions type (Calif or Fed).

Old 04-09-2015, 07:49 PM

Thanks for the update.

Yes, it did seem rather odd. Maybe someone didn't change the oil enough.

I pulled the engine with the transmission. What is the best way to seperate the engine from transmission?

Thanks again.

Old 04-10-2015, 01:06 AM
Super Moderator

There is an access plate under the trans bell housing. Loosen the torque converter bolts on the from flex plate via the access plate. The flex plate bolts to the crank shaft.

Rotate engine using crank pulley bolt CW to rotate flex plate/converter and access each bolt. Prior to fully unbolting the converter from the flex plate mark both to be able to assy them again in the same position to each other.

Note when unbolting that one bolt may be black. Mark the location of this bolt to be able to put it back in the same location. When bolting the trans back to the flex plate, this bolt is tightened first.

Remove all bolts. Then unbolt trans bell housing. Use the hole in the bell housing where the started bolted on for a hand lift point. Trans weighs about 120 lbs, have a friend help.