DIY - Do It Yourself Within you will find how-to's on many aspects of modding and caring for your ride as told by your fellow members.

Can the valves on a 95 Camry bend?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2013, 12:36 PM
Default Can the valves on a 95 Camry bend?

Ok everyone,

I am not very good with cars so bear with me, but recently my 95 Camry 2.2L overheated and the timing belt broke. Me and my friend went in and changed the belt and water pump among many other things (distributor, spark plugs, distributor cap) trying to get it to start again with no luck. I have some other mechanic friends who told me that I definitely bent my valves, but I have read many posts online saying that this cant happen because the 95s have a non-interference engine. Is it possible for the valves to still bend somehow? Is there a way I can check to see if they are working correctly?

Old 03-20-2013, 01:33 PM
Super Moderator

The engine over heated then the belt broke? Or did the water pump freeze up and then the belt broke? Or ?

How hot did the engine get, was the temp gauge needle into the red and if so for how long?

As to the bent valve. The engine is non-interference, belts do break and nothing is damaged. Odds are the valves are OK.

A bent valve may no longer close completely resulting in that cylinder no longer be able to compress the air. That cylinder will have less resistance when the engine is turned by the stater motor. As the engine turns over, the starter will speed up when the piston is unable to compress the cylinder having the leaking valve. The result is the sound coming from the engine changes perhaps having a higher pitch at the piston having low compression.

Or remove the valve cover and turn the crank manually CW two full rotations while watching the valve operation. A bent valve will not fully close or may stick. Since all valves can not be bent look for any differences in the valve stem/spring operation. The engine has 24 valves that operate the same way.