Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   DIY - Do It Yourself (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/diy-do-yourself-22/)
-   -   Repair manual incorrect (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/diy-do-yourself-22/repair-manual-incorrect-37778/)

matman72 01-20-2011 02:43 AM

Repair manual incorrect

My 97 vienta 3.0 dohc 3vz-fe overheated and blew something serious. The oil looked like yellow milk. Anyway i bought a Haynes manual, (camry 97 thru 02), mine is 6/1997. Whilst working on the car ive been noticing "my oil filler isn';t there" or "my water reservoir is different". Upon further study, This manual uses a 1mz-fe v6.
I dont know if there is many fundamental differences in the design of these 2 v6's, but it has me worried now. Can anyone fill me in please. I've searched and searched for a manual or 'anything' concerning the 3vz-fe(in a camry), with no luck. Im not a confident mechanic with these newer cars, but i have no choice. Last engine i pulled down was a XF falcon 4L straight 6.lol
thanx from anywhere will be long remembered, and much appreciated.
matt

toyomoho 01-20-2011 06:15 PM

This engine was discontinued in Camry sometime before 94. The Haynes manual for 97-02 would only have info on the 1MZ-FE.

matman72 01-20-2011 06:55 PM

thats wierd then,
on the timing belt cover itsays 3vz-fe, and I vr verified it a couple of other ways. Maybe it was installed post production as an upgrade?:confused:.
hmmm

full house 01-20-2011 09:25 PM

lol!if that is an upgrade it would work but it turns out it didn't...

matman72 01-21-2011 04:47 AM