Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   DIY - Do It Yourself (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/diy-do-yourself-22/)
-   -   Replacing Struts - 2009 LE (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/diy-do-yourself-22/replacing-struts-2009-le-41956/)

pcarboni 12-28-2012 09:25 AM

Replacing Struts - 2009 LE

I just bought a used 2009 LE with 70k miles yesterday. When the mechanic looked at it he said the front struts are "pouring oil," and gave me an initial price of near $500 to replace them.

I'm thinking about doing it myself to save myself a few hundred bucks, but I've never done it before. I'm a pretty handy guy, so I'm confident I could do it correctly...I'll just have to take the assembly to a mechanic to swap out the struts since I don't have a spring compressor.

Here are my questions:
1. Are the tutorials I see online just making it APPEAR simple and there's actually a lot more to it? I've read two picture tutorials and watched one video, and they all seem pretty straightforward...I just don't want to take it apart and realize I'm in over my head.

2. Is there a specific brand strut y'all would recommend?

3. Is there anything else about all this I'm forgetting?

toyomoho 12-28-2012 07:54 PM

Might get a second opinion. Toyota struts can leak oil, the dealer has a chart with drawings showing leakage ranging from acceptable to replacement needed.

Is the price for all 4 struts?

You may be able to rent a strut compressor, call auto parts stores the rent tools, rental outlets, etc. They are not expensive to purchase.

Suggest getting some kind of Camry shop manual, Haynes is OK and around $20. Your local library may have auto repair info either model specific or something like Motor which covers many makes in one large book.

A torque wrench is advisable.