Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

camry 96 transmission issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2011, 06:40 PM
Default camry 96 transmission issues

hello everybody, suddenly, my camry will go only in reverse. I am doing a lot of testing now, checked solenoids, they are good. I got a lot of manuals and I am doing ECM testing. I have a question:
If it says measure voltage beween terminals of ECM connector, how do you measure it? I know, it might sounds stupid, I am an electrical engineer, but it doesn't make any sense to me. If I want to measure voltage (or even resistance) on ECM, I have to unplug the harness. When nothing is connected to ECM, how I am suppose to test sensors, switches etc? When no harness is connected to ECM, how I can get appropriate reading???

Old 05-30-2011, 08:51 PM

If it says measure voltage beween terminals of ECM connector, how do you measure it?

I know there is a tool for that...just can't remember what it is.

Old 05-31-2011, 12:22 AM
Super Moderator

What engine, V6 or 4 cylinder? This makes a difference as to trans type.

You would be measuring the voltage output and resistance of the computer terminals for the computer.

Toyota does have specs to test sensors and solenoids directly at the plug of each item. If there might be a wiring problem, the sensor specs would be checked at the ECM plug.

The computer is just a controller for a piece of equipment. When sensors combined with programing state turn on switch A (a trans solenoid) the computer outputs a high signal (battery voltage something like 9-14V), if not it outputs a low signal (say 0-2 volts).

Old 05-31-2011, 10:20 AM

[quote=toyomoho;63979]What engine, V6 or 4 cylinder? This makes a difference as to trans type.