Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/engine-internal-13/)
-   -   Help identifying the problem with Check engine light. p0441/wrong charcoal canister? (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/engine-internal-13/help-identifying-problem-check-engine-light-p0441-wrong-charcoal-canister-45249/)

artemtroy 05-20-2013 01:17 AM

Help identifying the problem with Check engine light. p0441/wrong charcoal canister?

Hey everyone. Newbie here...
Have a problem that I can't figure out. I've been working on it for months.
Have a check engine light P0441 and sometimes p0450. Last time I checked it showed P0441 and pending p0450.
I have a 97 camry 4 cyl. 5speed transmission.
checked all vacuum lines, cleaned them, not cracked. replaced the gas cap.
tried a different charcoal canister from a junk yard, actually tried 2 different ones. By the way, I have the old type canister, that's round, 92-96 camry's have the same canister. I've been searching on the internet about this problem and they all talk about the charcoal canister that's located in the back of the car underneath, but my canister is the same as 95 or 96 camry. So I can't figure it out. I also tried to replace the ported vacuum switch (plastic blue with threaded end) Still no results... Please HELP>

toyomoho 05-20-2013 01:17 PM

Toyota would have moved the canister from the engine compartment to under the chassis in front of the fuel tank. The canister shown for a 1997 is square.

Is your car built for the USA or another country?

Can only speculate having only knowledge of USA cars.

The older USA round canister system was a simple manual design having no electrical controlled vacuum valves, pressure gauges or computer. It was not monitored by the check engine system.