Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   Engine & Internal (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/engine-internal-13/)
-   -   Hi I'm new with transmission problems. (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/engine-internal-13/hi-im-new-transmission-problems-47657/)

davisz43 09-10-2013 11:00 PM

Hi I'm new with transmission problems.

Hello everyone. I'm new to the forum and I hope I have the right place for the questions I have. I have an '89 DLX all-trac that I've had for 5 years now. I have recently changed transmisison fluid and put a new filter and pan gasket on.

Shortly after the transmission started acting up. If it is really cold outside it acts like its slipping and having trouble shifting, when it's warm it's not as bad. Once I drive it for about ten minutes it starts to do better with the shifting but after it warms up and comes off of choke and I stop it has trouble running but manages. 3 out of 5 times if I stop the torque converter locks up and the car stalls just like forgetting to hold a clutch in when driving a manual.

I don't understand why it would slip sometimes when I'm accelerating but lock up sometimes when I stop. The weather is going to be getting colder soon and I have no idea what to do. I've never torn into an automatic before, but I know people who have. Since I have an AWD I would imagine it would be a pain in the neck to tear it out because of a transfer case.

I've heard some people mention a torque converter lock up solenoid that might be the problem, but have no clue. Anyways nice to be apart of the group and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

toyomoho 09-12-2013 12:16 PM

Was all the fluid changed, if not what color is the fluid now. Red, reddish, brown, black?

The differential may have its own fluid camber separate from the trans case which may use trans fluid or a gear oil.