General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

2006 Camry 0P500 Code and Erratic Shifting! Help Please!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2014, 01:59 PM
Default 2006 Camry 0P500 Code and Erratic Shifting! Help Please!!

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie here, I am having major issues with my Camry. Its shifting very funky and throws the 0P500 code, I have replaced both VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensors and no luck at all) in addition I have noticed the lights doing funky things. I have outlined my journey since this has all began about a week ago. She has 159,000 miles on her and has never given me trouble to now.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you
John

12-28

Installed USA SPEC BT35 Bluetooth module behind factory radio (plug and play) directly into back of radio it's activated by pressing the CD button a second time (the radio thinks it's a disc changer).

When I installed this, I noticed there was a blue wire that looked like a ground wire that was broken, it's very easy to spot.

Not sure if this could be related.

12-31 approx 7pm

We were driving down the freeway approx 75 mph and all the sudden the car slammed into what felt like 3rd gear and than abruptly what felt like neutral then back down to 2nd or 3rd.

We pulled over and noticed the CE Light on, put in park then drive and tried to drive with same erratic shifting. Finally limped off freeway.

Checked fluids and all looked fine. Let the car rest about 20 minutes and then turned it around in to head home in approx 30 miles away.

Drive the car home out of overdrive and approx 15 miles from were I turned around on the way home it felt like it was slipping again.

Got home and parked car.

1-1

Checked code and found 0P500 Vehicle Speed Sensor A.

Went to local parts house and purchased airtex brand VSS and replaced sensor right underneath air box on tranny.

Cleared code and drove a few approx 7 miles with no problems.