General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

'98 Camry 2.2l Engine Damage

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2011, 08:47 AM
Default '98 Camry 2.2l Engine Damage

Hello everyone,

I just signed up to the Forum; I have a '98 Camry 2.2L 4cyl. To get to the chase, last week the car over-heated and started making a "ticking" sound. I had it towed to a mechanic yesterday morning, they checked it out and told me that I have a bad bearing either in cyl 3 or 4. I do believe that this is the case because when I first crank up the engine, there is a screetching sound which then turns into a knocking sound.

The engine basically ran very low on oil and basically ruined it. I have no experience at all with Toyotas which leads me to my doezen questions:

- What is the best place to get a rebuilt or used engine?
- Would any engine from '96 to '02 work fine in a '98? Electrical, CPU, other differences?
- Is it possible to put the V6 instead of the 4 cyl?

I really appreciate the help and feedback if possible.

Mike

Old 02-01-2011, 09:39 AM
Super Moderator

It's possible to install a V6 as it was an option. The only way would recommend this is if you obtained a totaled car having the V6 of the same year or close and swapped out parts. Otherwise too costly as the V6 uses a different trans, axles, radiator, suspension springs, computer, wiring harness, etc.

Might look a 98-99 engines. If just changing the block maybe 00 and 01. Toyota changed engine models in 02. You can do a Google search to determine what computer was used and if yours carries over. Typically computers are for a specific year, engine, trans, emissions setup.

For rebuilt or used engines might check at the Toyotanation website for suggestions. Used engine were being imported from Japan but not sure if this is still done.

Best place might be an auto junk yard, one linked by computer to other yards. The engine could the be shipped from whatever yard had it.