General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Transmission issues

Old 11-05-2010, 07:09 PM
Default Transmission issues

I have a 2003 Camry XLE V6. Recently I checked my transmission fluid and noticed it was a dark brown (previous check 6 months prior checked out okay). I took the car into a local shop and they stated the torque converter, clutch plates and solenoids are going bad. The quote they offered me was pretty good to fix it (business contact of a friend) but we're plenty capable of replacing the entire transmission if I can find one.

My question is, does anyone know what model transmission I have and I heard it might also be in a Lexus of similar years. Any information would be helpful, I'd like to look at finding a part out before I commit 2K to fixing the existing one. Any other insights would be appreciated as well as I'm new to Camrys.

Thanks again,

Old 11-05-2010, 09:34 PM
Super Moderator

This link may help.

https://www.camryforums.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=29931

Typically there is a sticker on the drivers door having the trans model number.

How does the trans shift? This year/model/trans combo was subject to a few service bulletins for shifting problems. In some cases if the problem was left unfixed, the trans would fail.

If the trans shifts OK why not just change ALL the fluid and drive it until it fails. Dark fluid is common on a trans that has never had its fluid changed. Use only the fluid recommended in the owners manual and also stamped on the dipstick.

Old 11-06-2010, 05:56 PM

Joey,
Thanks for the reply. Checking the sticker I have A/TM:-02A/U140E. Not sure where the link you referred me to, appears to just be a link to this thread.