General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Where's the damn gear box fluid go?

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2012, 03:21 AM
Default Where's the damn gear box fluid go?

Hey guys,

I've got a Toyota Camry CSi 1996 (XV10 ??) which is a hand me down from the parents, but my dad shares it with me as I live close by. I'm an undergraduate student and not working so not able to afford servicing the car, which I've been driving for almost two years and only been topping up the general fluids (oil, coolant, brakes, etc.).

Is there no dipstick for the gear box fluid? And do I need to take a bolt out to check levels with my finger?

There is a vibration only in the pedals, which seems to occur when accelerating and slowing down, not at constant speed. I was thinking this might be linked to low transmission fluid, hence the reason for trying to work out where gear box fluid goes.

Yesterday, I bought the Haynes service & repair manual for Toyota Camry, though not really sure it was worth it.

I normally drive a 1979 Holden kingswood (HZ) which I fully service myself, but the toyota is really cheap to run considering its a 2 hour return by car for university and I don't really know anything about Camry's!

Its starting to stress me out, as I am currently doing industry placement upon friends farms and haven't been able to go this week, its my semester break and I have next week left then back to university again which I expect will be a very hectic semester.

What sort of automotive service would be useful if the problem is not simply low fluids? Expected/estimated costs appreciated (rebuild/replacement with reco parts).

Regards

Jesse boy

Old 06-27-2012, 09:37 AM
Super Moderator

If you have the Haynes manual look through the front portion of the book covering routine maintenance. There should be a drawing under the category of manual transaxle lubricant change showing the filler and drain holes.