Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   Headers, Intake, & Exhaust (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-14/)
-   -   Muffler (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/headers-intake-exhaust-14/muffler-2980/)

bassboobs 01-01-2008 02:28 PM

Muffler

Hay everyone, im kinda new to car's and stuff. I don't know alot about them, just that I like to go fast and like the way they sound. But anyways, I recently bought a 1991 Toyota Camry and was wanting to upgrade the exhaust sound on it. I was wanting to know if I could just add a muffler to the end of the pipe and give it that kinda ricer tuner sound.?.?.? Could I do that or would I also have to alter other things like headers and cytilac converters????

any help would be greatly
appreciated

THX,
Josh

OnE_To_HatE 01-01-2008 06:35 PM

RE: Muffler

you can just add on a muffler at the end- no need to mess with the piping/resonator/catalytic converter.

bassboobs 01-01-2008 06:48 PM

Could you help me pick one offline? I was looking at some but I really don't know what im looking for. I believe it has to have a 2.5 inlet for my car and I would like a 4" outlet... any help is ausome thx

05cam 01-01-2008 10:43 PM

You dont have to add another muffler 1st off. Maybe replace the stock one with a new ricey sounding one. But not add another to the one already there. You can usually find a cheap one online for around 100-150$ keep in mind you get what you pay for, and you can usually have a shop put it on for next to nothing. Keep in mind local state / federal laws. Some states forbid any kind of modification to the exhuast systems.