Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   New Member Area (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/new-member-area-5/)
-   -   07 Camry vvt-i issues and knocking (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/new-member-area-5/07-camry-vvt-i-issues-knocking-52214/)

wileym1 04-12-2018 10:49 AM

07 Camry vvt-i issues and knocking

Hello all, Mark here. Obviously a newbie here. I went through a few threads on the site but didn't find the answer I was looking for. Guess my patience got the best of me.
Gonna try to make a long story short, if possible. LOL.
My son has a 07 Camry 2.4L 2AZ=FE engine. Recently rebuilt sons engine due to excessive oil consumption, bad rod bearing and way past warranty (129,000). Definetly made sure all timing marks, gears, and chains all lined up to TDC.
My questions are, after initial start up about 5 minutes later, knocking started to come back ever so slightly and check engine light came on. Ran my OBD link on it with codes p0011, p0012.
Camshaft A issues, over advanced timing. I did use a 10w- 30 oil for initial break in with the rings.
Will that have an effect on the OCV valve with heavier oil? replaced OCV before start up.
Could the little screen be plugged thats by the power steering pump? didn't check it yet
Does anyone know the exact ohm range that this years camshaft position sensor is suppost to put out?
Sorry but this is just a few questions I have for starters. LOL
Any suggestions or advice would greatly be appreciated.
Thank you, Mark

toyomoho 04-12-2018 11:58 AM

The issue could the VVTi system unit or lack of oil pressure to the unit.

Check/clean VVTi oil filter screen. A plugged screen can cause issues.

Thought Toyota recommended 5w-30, check manual. This should not cause undo issues by itself.

6.9-7.9 ohm for valve.

Did you have a shop manual? There is reference to the locking the VVTi gear full retarded at installation.

wileym1 04-12-2018 12:18 PM