New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

2003 Camry - P0038 & P 0058

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2017, 01:23 PM
Default 2003 Camry - P0038 & P 0058

This is my first time posting and I'm hoping you experts out there can give me some advice. A few months ago, my check engine light came on for my 2003 Camry with the codes P0038 and P0058, so I had my O2 sensors replaced. A few days later, the light came back on with the same codes. Mechanic tested all of the sensors and they all tested fine. Couldn't figure out why the light kept coming on. I even replaced gas cap and fuel filler neck but that didn't do the trick. Car runs beautifully (always has) so just kept driving. Now it's time to get smogged and can't because of the light. Took it to Toyota dealer and they confirmed O2 sensors and heater control circuits are fine. They told me I needed a new Engine Control Module (ECM). Spent $1,200 on that (which I thought was too high) and I won't even know if that will do the trick until they install it and I drive a while. I wouldn't think the car would drive well if the ECM was bad. All I want to do is get my car smogged and getting very frustrated!!! Like I said, the Camry drives beautifully!!! Any thoughts you all could provide would be much appreciated.

Old 03-07-2017, 02:40 PM

maybe wiring glitch or too much voltage sent to the 02 sensor heater wires from ECM/PCM
HO2S Heater Control Circuit High (Bank 2 Sensor 2)

Read more at: https://www.obd-codes.com/p0058
Copyright OBD-Codes.com

https://www.obd-codes.com/p0058

If the PCM detects an abnormally high voltage condition on the heater circuit, P0058 may set. This code is only referring to the heating circuitry half of the Oxygen sensor. Bank 2 is the side of the engine that does not contain cylinder #1.

P0038=HO2S Heater Control Circuit High
P0038 - OBD II Trouble Code