Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   New Member Area (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/new-member-area-5/)
-   -   CEL on but wont flash codes, 96-2.2L (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/new-member-area-5/cel-but-wont-flash-codes-96-2-2l-39834/)

chefyota4x4 12-12-2011 10:37 PM

CEL on but wont flash codes, 96-2.2L

Hey Guys, really hoping for a Christmas Miracle, lol... I'm a Torrance, CA area guy who has a sister visiting with a 96 Camry/2.2L/190k mi. beast! hehe.(I restore/am restoring 1st Gen 4Runners... Currently an 87, lots of mods, over on Yotatech...)

Might as well throw it out here since, well, while I don't OWN a Camry..... I'M STILL A NEWB! lol........

1.) The CEL is on and idle is a bit chunky and tends to drop quite a bit when the AC cycles on(will mention the later part in number 5).
2.) I've jumped E1 and TE1 and cannot get a 'flash' with the key "ON"
3.) I've tried jumping said connectors in both engine bay and under dash locations
4.) The under dash DCL is broken away from it's fixed factory location(But neither DCL1 nor DCL2 will give me a 'flash').
5.) While test driving it and going through some of the things that I would check on my 22RE(Although this is an auto), I put it in park, looked down and the AC 'button' was lit up. She was defrosting but left it on, she said(not sure how long, she also said). When I killed the AC switch the wonky idle settled down a bit but I'll test it further tomorrow after really getting it up to closed loop/running a while. I'm assuming the idle down/chunky idle might be due to something similar to my 4Runner, which can be adjusted behind the glove box/fixed by replacing the VSV.
6.) Air Bag and 'Lights'(of some kind, maybe taillights?) dummy lights are also on.