Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum

Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/)
-   Suspension, Brakes, Tires & Wheels (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/suspension-brakes-tires-wheels-16/)
-   -   Brake calipers sticking (https://www.camryforums.com/forum/suspension-brakes-tires-wheels-16/brake-calipers-sticking-51775/)

sevencrows 08-27-2017 09:40 AM

Brake calipers sticking

I'm not a mechanic, but I can usually change front brake pads without too much problem. Yesterday, I set out to change pads & rotors on my 1998 Camry (hope its info is included). Driver's side went well, but I could not separate the calipers on the passenger side enough to fit on the new rotor. I opened the valve and pushed the piston back almost flush, but the fixed part on the opposite side will not move. I know I'm not using the right terminology here, but calipers on previous cars I've owned have always been willing to slide back & forth which allows the outer pad to flush with the fixed part so that the rotor slides in easily. This one appears to be stuck.

Do I take the calipers off the car & put in in a vice to break it loose?

I feel like I'm missing something here and would appreciate any advice.
Thanks,
seven

toyomoho 08-27-2017 12:41 PM

The sliding pins may be stuck. The caliper (retains pads) moves on the sliding pins.

Unbolt the caliper from the torque plate (bolted to steering knuckle).

Then determine if the sliding pins are free. If not, remove and clean them. Then lube with brake grease such as Sil-Glyde.

sevencrows 08-27-2017 12:56 PM

Thanks for the quick response. Should I do this with the hose attached or take the calipers off completely? If I take the hose off, am I risking getting more air in the line & wheel cylinder than I can bleed out?

Thanks again,
seven

sevencrows 08-27-2017 01:06 PM

Also, how important is it to put the 2 v-shaped springs back on that attach to the backside of the pads?

Thanks,
seven

toyomoho 08-27-2017 01:56 PM