General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2008 overheated, coolant in #2 and #3

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2017, 07:46 PM
Default 2008 overheated, coolant in #2 and #3

New user needing some help.

My son's 08 overheated, lost most/all of the coolant. We bought it used and the failure appears to be from the previous owner using JB weld to repair a radiator leak. The repair just failed and dumped the coolant rapidly.

There is coolant leaking into #2 and #3 cylinders.

I am new to repairing these engines.

My questions are:

How well does the head (and the block) hold up to overheating on these engines?

Is it even remotely possible that simply replacing the head gasket (and I would assume that machining the head would also be required) would resolve the issue or is it a high likelihood that I will need a new head?

Last edited by bismic; 01-10-2017 at 08:16 PM. Reason: grammar
Old 01-11-2017, 12:36 PM
Super Moderator

The block is aluminum. Did the engine seize up, make noise or have other indications of internal damage due to loss of coolant? If so problems.

The engine doesn't like being overheated and can result in a failed head gasket.

Some engine blocks had issues with a few of their head bolt threads failing during normal operation. When your examining the engine. Look for signs of coolant on the back of the engine where the foam insulation is for the intake manifold. This site and the internet has lots of info on this issue including repairs. Might read up on this.

If lower end is OK. Its worth an attempt to remove the head and take a look. Check the block for cracks and excess warping.

Examine the block threads for signs of pulling out. Not all bolt hole threads pull out, its somewhere between 3 and 4 in the same area.