DIY - Do It Yourself Within you will find how-to's on many aspects of modding and caring for your ride as told by your fellow members.

Injectors and timing chain

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2022, 05:28 PM
Default Injectors and timing chain

The third cylinder is misfiring and I’m in the process of replacing the head gasket. It is my first time and I’m thrilled but reluctant to move forward because I don’t know where to go from here and do not know what to expect. does it look like oil or coolant. I had a coolant test where combustion fumes in the coolant

Any help would be appreciated

Last edited by alexqkama; 10-16-2022 at 09:29 PM. Reason: additional info
Old 10-16-2022, 10:14 PM
Super Moderator

Year of car?

Any codes?

Is this a rebuilt head?

Did the head bolt threads in the block pull out?

Old 10-16-2022, 10:52 PM

I just started dismantling the engine for the first time. I just bought the car with 98k miles original where the previous owner told me about the cylinder 3 misfiring.
I had compression and coolant tests performed, the compression in the third cylinder was 210 and the rest of the cylinders were 160 each..The combustion test turned yellow quickly.
2007 camry
code p0303

Last edited by alexqkama; 10-17-2022 at 11:39 AM.
Old 10-17-2022, 08:37 AM
Super Moderator

Do some internet research on this engine model. Some years had issues of the head bolt threads in the block pulling out. Toyota had an extended warranty and repair on this but it may have expired.

The issue is common and as such lots of threads, posts, Youtube video's out there. This site has posts on this issue and one can do a search.

If the issue is the threads the best fix seems to be installing threaded inserts into the bolt. The Time Sert brand seems to be the best. There are kits sold that contain all the tools and inserts needed for the repair.

It's a DIY at home job.

Only certain thread locations pull out not all of them.