Go Back  Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum > Your Ride > ECU & Electronics
Reload this Page >

2001 Alarm trigger circuit - can I tap in to add more sensors?

ECU & Electronics Discuss electronics and related components within.

2001 Alarm trigger circuit - can I tap in to add more sensors?

  #1  
Old 04-03-2018, 11:24 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Default 2001 Alarm trigger circuit - can I tap in to add more sensors?

I want to add more sensors to my factory alarm system. Seems once I read that there is a point where the alarm system will accept additional inputs, but that reference is long gone.

Ideally, I'd like to use both normally open and normally closed sensors, so that would be two points. I have the usual Chilton and Haynes wiring diagrams but the trigger circuit isn't obvious (at least to me).

Just as important as where it is in the diagram, where can I access it physically?

2001 Camry V6
 
  #2  
Old 04-04-2018, 11:57 AM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PTW
Posts: 11,742
Default

What extra switches did you want to add?

There may be two different manufacturers of the alarm system, each having their own wiring.

The alarm computer is located under the far right upper portion of passengers dash. Search Epay for photos of the device to compare.

The alarm uses both NO and NC switches. Some switches are grouped via a junction box before running to the alarm. Others are individuals switches running to the alarm.

Haynes and Clinton would have nothing.

Find the alarm then note who made it.

Determine what additional switch locations you want. The type of switch used depends on the which alarm wiring you want to tap into.
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-2018, 01:42 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks. Not a handy location, but then, that's the point. It's been a while since I looked at the schematics. The alarm is on them to some extent. I'll refresh my memory and come get back when I can.

As for what switches, it really doesn't matter, does it? A NO switch is NO, and a NC switch is NC, regardless of what it's sensing. They would be in the triggered state for as long as the sensor is active, IOW, not necessarily momentary, but that shouldn't matter to the input of any alarm I've dealt with.
 
  #4  
Old 04-06-2018, 11:35 AM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PTW
Posts: 11,742
Default

Switch type only matters when adding an additional circuit to an existing alarm circuit. The alarm uses both NO and NC switches.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Cody Baker
Audio/Visual Electronics
2
03-29-2019 05:37 AM
flaniken
General Tech
1
06-25-2010 10:40 PM
pranavvaria
ECU & Electronics
1
04-23-2010 10:30 AM
biocpu
General Tech
5
05-21-2007 08:40 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 2001 Alarm trigger circuit - can I tap in to add more sensors?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.