2001 Alarm trigger circuit - can I tap in to add more sensors? - Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum


ECU & Electronics Discuss electronics and related components within.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-03-2018, 11:24 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Default 2001 Alarm trigger circuit - can I tap in to add more sensors?

I want to add more sensors to my factory alarm system. Seems once I read that there is a point where the alarm system will accept additional inputs, but that reference is long gone.

Ideally, I'd like to use both normally open and normally closed sensors, so that would be two points. I have the usual Chilton and Haynes wiring diagrams but the trigger circuit isn't obvious (at least to me).

Just as important as where it is in the diagram, where can I access it physically?

2001 Camry V6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2018, 11:57 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PTW
Posts: 11,108
Default

What extra switches did you want to add?

There may be two different manufacturers of the alarm system, each having their own wiring.

The alarm computer is located under the far right upper portion of passengers dash. Search Epay for photos of the device to compare.

The alarm uses both NO and NC switches. Some switches are grouped via a junction box before running to the alarm. Others are individuals switches running to the alarm.

Haynes and Clinton would have nothing.

Find the alarm then note who made it.

Determine what additional switch locations you want. The type of switch used depends on the which alarm wiring you want to tap into.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2018, 01:42 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks. Not a handy location, but then, that's the point. It's been a while since I looked at the schematics. The alarm is on them to some extent. I'll refresh my memory and come get back when I can.

As for what switches, it really doesn't matter, does it? A NO switch is NO, and a NC switch is NC, regardless of what it's sensing. They would be in the triggered state for as long as the sensor is active, IOW, not necessarily momentary, but that shouldn't matter to the input of any alarm I've dealt with.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2018, 11:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PTW
Posts: 11,108
Default

Switch type only matters when adding an additional circuit to an existing alarm circuit. The alarm uses both NO and NC switches.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a amp, what wires to tap???? Cody Baker Audio/Visual Electronics 1 03-25-2018 06:48 PM
Vapor lock in gas neck-can't add more gas flaniken General Tech 1 06-25-2010 10:40 PM
How can I detect a short circuit in door locking system pranavvaria ECU & Electronics 1 04-23-2010 10:30 AM
Can I add side/head airbag & stability control? biocpu General Tech 5 05-21-2007 08:40 AM


Tags
alarm, circuit, gen 4, sensors, trigger

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.