Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

3s-gte in 99" camry?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2007, 09:02 PM
Default 3s-gte in 99" camry?

Hey I'm kinda new to this forum but I'm not a newbie when it comes to Camrys. I have a 99" which I resently blew the engine. It had over 175k miles, 5s-fe, auto. I'm thinking about getting a 3s-gte and trying that swap. I did a search and didn't come up with anything so I'm wondering has anyone ever done this swap or will I be the first to dive into it? By the way if any of you are wondering I'm only 17 (bday coming up soon) and I'm looking to do this with a couple of friends who have experience with an srt-4 (500whp, 550 ft. lbs. tq) and a 93" mr-2 (approx. 300whp, tq. unknown) so it's not likeI'm trying to just take a plunge into something 50 ft. over my head.Thanks everyone that can help!!!!

Old 03-25-2007, 03:53 PM
Default RE: 3s-gte in 99" camry?

i have never done the swap..but i did help a friend install a supra motor in a toyo 4x4 truck.. and let me tell you..that is the last engine swap i will do...yours should be a little easier since its small engine....but did you concider rebuilding your motor or putting then same motor and installing a turbo maybe...seem like an easier task to me and the cost should be lower.

Old 03-25-2007, 04:47 PM

I actually just got done rebuilding this engine (well not mine but its one out of a 97" Camry) at school and the parts (new crank and bearings) with the school's labor charge is over $1000. This may include a few extra things that I haven't paid attention to. I need a whole new bottom end, rods, pistons, bearings, and an oil pan. Add a turbo kit to that and it's easily more than me just getting an 3s-gte. Not to mention tuning and probably ending up at the starting point as the 3s-gte. The swap seems more cost efficient if you ask me.

Old 03-25-2007, 09:48 PM