Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Overheating.

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2012, 08:45 AM
Default Overheating.

Hey guys. Im looking for a little help with my 92 v6 camry. Its overheating. Everything was fine until yesterday sitting at the light. I noticeed the dash gauge going up and it was getting hott. When i started to drive it went back down to normal. I got home and checked the level and it was good. Also the overflow was fine. I did notice the fan was turning really slow. Slow enough i could stop it with my hand. So my question is where the hell do i start. I know the fan is run off the ps fluid. And there is a couple sensors and a relay somewhere. This is my first Toyota so im new with these cars. Any help would be great.

Old 02-10-2012, 11:40 AM
Super Moderator

Suggest for starters you pickup a Haynes service manual or other to troubleshoot the fan system. The system may have hydraulic not electric fans.

If so a cooling fan computer controls a hydraulic valve to control fan operation.

Check the hydraulic fluid level in the system reservoir near the pump which is on the passengers side of the engine. If low it uses the same fluid as the trans.

The fans should turn on when the AC compressor cycles on, make sure this is happening.

The coolant temp sensor is on the passengers side of the engine on the radiator side of the pump.

Last edited by toyomoho; 02-11-2012 at 11:55 PM.
Old 02-10-2012, 11:46 AM

Thank you. This just happend last night. Im goin to get a Haynes on my way home from work. It has the hydraulic fan set. That i know for sure. Like i mentioned im new with these cars and any and all advice/help is appreciated.

Old 02-10-2012, 10:26 PM
Super Moderator

If the Haynes book is of no help post back.

Old 02-11-2012, 11:09 PM