General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1993 "walking" idle only in R and D

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2008, 08:33 PM
Default 1993 "walking" idle only in R and D

i just bought a 1993 camry with 3.0L auto, its been sitting for 3 months because the lady i got it from said it would stall and she didn't want to put any money into it. the battery was dead but when i jumped it, it started right up and ran like a top.but when i put it in gear (R or D) the idle jumps up to about 1200 and drops to 300 rpm and if left in grear for more than a min. it will stall but start right up. i have ruled out the IAC vale because it doesn't do it in P or N, but thats about it. i know "walking idle" is usualy a bad IAC or vacume line, so i didn't know if there is any vacume lines to the trans. or maybe a bad comp. ive never had a toyota so im new to the 10,000 vacume lines under the hood. also, the check eng. lights is not on. could a bad charging system or batt. cause this. thanks for looking and for any advice you can pass on.

Old 09-22-2008, 09:33 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: 1993 "walking" idle only in R and D

When shifting into gear the electrical switch on the trans lever signals the computer the trans is in gear. The computer adjusts the engine idle via IAC valve to compensate for the additional load.

Idle should be around 1200 cold, 700-800 warm. When trans placed in gear or AC turned on idle should adjust for the load.

Do a Google search on cleaning the IAC valve (a common issue). If doing so use on a plastic safe cleaner as the valve is plastic.

Or could be the engine coolant sensor for the computer.

Old 09-22-2008, 07:44 PM