General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

1997 drivers side oil leak

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 10:45 PM
Post 1997 drivers side oil leak

This is my first time using this forum. Thanks for any helpful info anyone can provide. I've got a 1997 2.2 l, with a bad oil leak on the drivers side of the engine. It looks to be coming from above the oil pan gasket but I wouldn't yet sware to it. Oil is on the drivers side end, puddling on the transaxle, then dripping from the frame. I just replaced the valve cover gasket and that didn't get it. I have read somewhere that in 1997, in doing away with distributor, a plug has been used to seal a hole and this plug sometimes leaks. Any word on this? Where is the plug located? Is it behind the bracket that supports the intake and to which the ignition modules are attached? Thanks again.

Last edited by LAROCK; 03-18-2009 at 10:47 PM.
Old 03-19-2009, 01:51 PM
Super Moderator

Not sure.

If you remove the valve cover and follow the intake camshaft towards the drivers side, the hole would be inline with the shaft. The dist used to plug in this hole and be driven by the intake shaft. This shaft is the one closest to the firewall.

Old 03-20-2009, 09:20 PM
Default 1997 drivers side oil leak