General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 Camry 2.2 peculiar loss of power issue.

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2017, 01:20 AM
Default 97 Camry 2.2 peculiar loss of power issue.

I am new here but I have 30+ years of auto repair experience. I have a 97 Camry with a fairly new rebuilt engine that literally over night developed a huge issue. I have searched for the last several months & no answers seem to fix it &/or none of the issues I've read match completely. At right around half throttle the engine sputters as if it's either spark knocking or has a shorting plug wire. It will die but as soon as it does you can put it in neutral & it'll immediately restart, as long as you stay away from that part of the throttle. It will never come out of it but if you baby it & feather the throttle a little it won't die & will eventually build up to highway speed.

There are NO codes at all! Oh and also I took it to a friend of mine that owns a transmission shop that has 40 years experience. He says it's a running issue not the transmission which it almost acts like.

Here's some history... About 15k miles ago the engine was fully rebuilt. New crank, pistons, rings etc plus a connecting rod. It had had a thrown rod. The head was gone through & obviously all new gaskets. The counterbalance was destroyed so not reused & the oil feed passage to it was plugged after reading several forum posts about this. it was broken in correctly & drove roughly 15k miles before this problem developed.