General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Overall performance problem.

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2005, 08:05 PM
Default Overall performance problem.

This is a first for me. I have never tried a forum before so this should be interesting. My wife and I own a '96 Camry with a 2.2L. She told me the check engine light came on last week and Auto Zone was nice enough to pull the code for me; it said a miss fire in cylinder 4. This made sense since the fuel mileage has gone down hill and it has a rough idle. I have change the plugs, cap, rotor and currently have a sent of wires on order. However, an ohms test did not show any problems with the wires. The car is driven in-town and at slow speeds; less than 10 miles per trip. Oh, the fuel filer and air filter have also been replaced. During the last few days, it seems that the valve train makes a little more noise than it used to but not too much. I have never had the injectors cleaned or the valves adjusted. It does seem to lack low end power (I know...it's only a 4 cylinder), almost like a hesitation, but seems normal in the upper RPM range (Repeated trips into the upper RPM range were fun but not successful).
I used to work on cars many years ago and have trouble taking my vehicles in for service. Has anyone had any similar problems with their cars. Or does anyone have any suggestions to help improve gas mileage/idle quality. Any and all input will be appreciated.
Oh, I almost forgot to tell you that the car only has 86,000 or so miles.
New member,
Scott

Old 12-08-2005, 01:49 PM
Administrator
Default RE: Overall performance problem.

did the codes clear themselves once you tuned it up?

Old 01-25-2006, 08:39 PM