DIY - Do It Yourself Within you will find how-to's on many aspects of modding and caring for your ride as told by your fellow members.

2018 Camry XLE piston not retracting***HELP***

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2023, 10:00 PM
Default 2018 Camry XLE piston not retracting***HELP***

Hello, changing front and rear brakes on 2018 Camry XLE, front brakes went without issue. I'm new to the electronic brake caliper piston and having issues. I had removed both rear tires and removed one of the calipers. I tried to compress the piston and it did not work like the front brakes. I looked it up and it said to push the parking brake up three times then down three and hold. I think the first time i did this I messed up? I ended up getting to the point where the PARK was slow flashing like its suppose to be to go into "work on brakes" mode. So, now the rear passenger side piston look completely out and will not compress, I pulled off the caliper on the driver side and it worked(able to compress) as it was suppose to and I was able to compress it. I'm assuming I screwed something up since I might have messed up putting it in the "work on brakes" mode with the caliper off? I also found something on trying to get the motor to retract by using a battery and connecting to the leads on the brake motor, this did not seem to work, still not able to compress the piston. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gene

Old 10-02-2023, 12:51 PM
Super Moderator

Not up to speed on the electric p-brake.

As stated, the car needs to be put into service mode or such. This action is supposed to move the piston inward however it appears the piston does not retract all the way in. The piston may be needed to be rotated to screw it back into the caliper to install the new thicker pad. This action requires a tool that engages the piston to rotate it. YouTube has video's of using this tool.