Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

rebuild question

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2011, 07:22 PM
Default rebuild question

Hey guys - newbie here -
Got a question on rebuilding a 1992 5S-FE. I have 375,000 miles on this engine with some pretty low compression #'s. I was wondering if you guys would recommend rebuilding, buying used, or what. I have found a kit on ebay for $225 with new pistons, rings, etc. I am not interested in anything special or more power, etc. I just want my reliable car back and still get 30 MPG.

I have had troubles and I replaced the head gasket years ago in the driveway with no good tools and consequently I made some mistakes, but it starts and runs ok now - it just doesn't stay running and has no power when it does go. Timing is within spec and it has new plugs, wires, and so on.

Got any advice for me? Please?!

Old 04-03-2011, 11:13 AM
Super Moderator

What caused you to replace the head gasket, overheating?

What are the compression readings? Are the cylinder readings uniform or are one or two cylinders lower then the others?

Does the engine use more then 1 quart of oil per 1000 miles?

Is it possible for you to solve the current problems? Did you reconnect all the hoses, etc. correctly when putting the engine back together. Is the cam and crank pulley timing correct?

The issue is exploring the possibilities of fixing this engine before considering replacing or rebuilding it.

Old 04-03-2011, 08:50 PM

I did the compression check again and I was off before - cylinders 2, 3, and 4 are about 135-140. Cylinder #1 is about 50. I squirted oil in it and it jumped to 75 but no higher.
I replaced the headgasket due to overheating and never checked for warpage or anything. (I didn't have straight edges and didn't know to do this at the time) I did hook up a smoke machine and I have smoke coming from the head gasket area around the #1 injector.