General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1993 Camry engine dies when hot.

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2019, 01:19 PM
Default 1993 Camry engine dies when hot.

Need help getting to bottom of the problem of engine dying once it warms up after driving 10 min. Will restart after it cools off at least 30 min. then repeats problem when hot. Have replaced fuel filter, ignition coil and fuel pump and problem continues. What's next?

Old 09-24-2019, 02:42 PM
Super Moderator

Compare ign spark when the engine is cold and hot (engine dead).

Old 09-24-2019, 02:52 PM

Thanks for tip. Will give that a try at next opportunity. Not sure what to do after finding either spark or no spark when engine is hot. Apparently it is getting spark when engine is cold or it wouldn't start. I am a novice with some experience.

Old 09-24-2019, 03:02 PM

Just went out and looked at distributor and realized that I don't know how to check ignition spark. I am only use to old school mechanics with a center coil wire on distributor cap.

Old 09-24-2019, 04:26 PM
Super Moderator

If you have a spare spark plug, use it to plug into the removed ign wire from a plug still installed into the engine. Touch metal body of the plug to metal on car/engine and crank engine.

If no spar plug, use a metal screw, etc to substitute for the plug. Hold screw about 1/2 inch from metal on the car. Crank engine.

Be careful not to get shocked.

Old 09-24-2019, 04:42 PM

Okay, I didn't realize that I could use one of the spark plug wires. I had thought it needed to be directly from distributor. I can do that when I have help cranking engine. You give very clear directions. Thanks again.

Old 09-24-2019, 05:56 PM