General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2011 Camry Front Body Issue

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2022, 03:08 PM
Default 2011 Camry Front Body Issue

Hello All, I am george and I am new to Camry Forums. I own a 2011 Camry and purchased it new. It has been a great car, it's dependable, still great on gas, still very solid and quiet and comfortable even after all the years. And this brings me to my reason for finding and joining this site. Allow me to explain;
About 7 or 8 months ago I began noticing that the right side of my hood , closest to the windshield, seemed to be raising up. Of course my first thought was that there is no way that the hood is drifting. I know the hood hinges are not adjustable, but to makes sure I raised the hood to check and the are not adjustable. So at the beginning I just kind of let this observation go.

A month or two later while washing the car I noticed that the right side of the hood seemed to be a bit higher off the car and also the rubber seal that is placed between the fender and the bottom of the windshield had "popped" out of place. So reset the rubber seal and then I raised the hood to see if just maybe something was extending into the path of the hood and forcing it to raise when it was closed. Still nothing. This time I went to the left side of the car to look and see if the hood was raising there or if anything was out of place there. But everything seemed to be in place as designed.

Let's fast forward to present, its been about 7 months since I first noticed this issue and today again the hood seemed a bit higher and I found the rubber seal that had popped out earlier is once again popped out only now when I try to replace it the seal is too long. In otherwords the place where the hood is raising is sort of moving inward toward the center of the car.