General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

2013 Sealed Tranny Fluid Change

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2014, 08:31 PM
Talking 2013 Sealed Tranny Fluid Change

First off I love my 2013 Camry SE 2.5 and im a maintaince Fenatic,doing routine maintaince far more then required,5000 mile synthetic oil changes,coolant change every 30,000 miles,ANYTHING to make my camry LAST,im very concerned about this lifetime transmission fluid thing,does not sit well with me,i want ti chage it at like 30,000 miles,ive read so many things conserning this procedule,and im still clueless,seems you need some kind of scanner,engine tempeture has to be this or that,if I just want to drain and fill tranny with new fluid while cold,can this be done,also is there a way to change it thru the Transmission Cooler lines at the Radiator,ive been researching this since I owned my 2011 Camry LE(hated that Car) ANYONE have any info of how this can be done,its making me nuts,ive seen a few other Toyota models where people do it,but cant find anything on the Camry 6 speed SEALED transmission

Last edited by brfbilly; 06-16-2014 at 08:34 PM.
Old 06-16-2014, 09:35 PM
Super Moderator

Fluid is synthetic. Toyota uses a color chart to determine condition based on trans fluid color. 30K may be too soon unless towing or hard driving.

What model number of trans? The drivers door should have info. One letter such A, E, U etc, followed by 3 numbers and another letter. Example = U660E.

Trans is not sealed. Toyota eliminated the dipstick and added a side fill port similar to manual trans and differentials. Does the trans have a dipstick?

The trans is filled with fluid, then engine run until fluid is between 104 and 113F (the trans has a temp sensor). Make sure car is on level ground.

There may be a manual way to check fluid temp by connecting the #4 and #13 terminals on the ODBII connection.