General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fan switch problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2007, 01:02 AM
Default Fan switch problem

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here. It's good I found this site.

I have a 91 Camry and has a problem with the fan switch. The switch does not turn on the fan at the low to the mid setting. Is there a way I can replace it. Is it a DIY?

Thanks all.

Old 09-15-2007, 01:14 AM
Default coolant leak

Here I am again asking for help.

Here's my story

While driving home from work with my aircon on, the temperature gauge suddenly went up. I was lucky to get home without having an overheat. After allowing the car to cool down, I noticed that the coolant reservoir was empty. I opened the rad cap and found the radiator dry. I did not realize my coolant was leaking. I brought the car to a mechanic. He told me that the water pump needs to be replaced (estimate cost is $300). But I just replaced the water pump with the timing belt about 30,000 miles ago.

I brought it to another mechanic for a second opinion. This time I was told that it does not look like the water pump is the problem. If it were, he told me that the side wall at the passenger side would be wet with coolant. However, he said that it appears that the leak is going to the engine. He also found a pinhole at the radiator which may have cause the leak too. Estimated cost is $600 (excluding radiator replacement).

I'm planning to get a third opinion.

I'm not really adept in cars, but could somebody help me. Please ask me anything that I need to verify for you. Thanks.

Old 09-15-2007, 03:14 PM
Default RE: Fan switch problem

Why are you whispering?