General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

threaded insert failure - how to remove?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2016, 11:33 PM
Smile threaded insert failure - how to remove?

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post. I have a 2001 Camry with a four cylinder. I'm not a professional mechanic, but I do work on my car/engine.

One of the spark plugs blew out of the engine recently. The threads in the head were stripped out, so I could not simply replace the plug.

I bought a heli-coil Sav-a-thread kit at the auto parts store and bored out the head, tapped new threads into the head, and installed the threaded insert with some red lock-tite on it. This was challenging because I had never done this before and the tools were not designed to work in the deep holes the plugs go into. With a little inginuity, I none-the-less got the insert in and secured it with the provided tools.

I let it sit 24 hours and it seemed to have worked perfectly. Car ran fine for about two months. Then it started missing and running rough. I looked under the hood and notice the plug wire was not secured to the plug so I pushed it back on and started the engine. The wire blew off again.

So, there is pressure from the cylinder leaking through the insert and blowing the wire off the plug. Arcing between the plug and wire is igniting the cylnder and the engine is loosing pressure in that cylinder, causing fuel to ignite in the spark plug shaft where the wire goes.

I tightened the plug back down, but it's not staying tight. I tried to remove it and the plug comes out but the insert stays put. I can tell the insert is loose and it is obviously not sealing.

So my question is this; how do I remove the insert so I can replace it with the same or a larger version?