General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

woops- belt loose and turned crankshaft w/o turning camshaft

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2014, 08:49 AM
Default woops- belt loose and turned crankshaft w/o turning camshaft

I'm an amateur at car repair
I was putting a new timing belt on a Camry with a 5SE engine.
I had the cam and crank lined up and put belt on..and loosened bolt on tensioner...then turned crankshaft 1/2 turn CW...
the problem is the belt must not have been tight enough and what happened is that the crankshaft turned 1/2 turn but the camshaft did not.

I know this is a non-interference engine....but not sure what to do....
do I
1. turn crankshaft CCW to get back to where I started? I heard that was bad
2. turn crankshaft 1/2 in CW direction....am I really safe being its a non-interference engine
3.try and turn the camshaft the amount it should have moved (1/4 turn) ?
4. something else ???

thanks for any help ....I dont want to damage something !
Thanks
Tim

Old 05-25-2014, 12:08 PM
Super Moderator

If camshaft pulley is still lined up, do No 1 or 2.

Turning crank CCW is bad when checking cam/crank alignment, as in "turn crank 2 times CW and recheck marks". Turning CW removes any slack from the timing belt.

Make sure you do turn crank 2 times CW and recheck marks. Has happened cam pulley ends up one tooth off due to slack being taking out of belt. If so, adjust cam position to compensate and reinstall belt. Then recheck marks by rotating 2 times CW.

Old 05-25-2014, 01:38 PM

Thank you for the quick reply

so just to confirm
#1 its ok to turn crankshaft CCW 1/2 turn to get back to original spot since belt not really engaged

#2. if I went the CW route, (since I've already turned 1/2 turn CW), I need to turn an additional 1 and 1/2 turns ? To get back to original spot.

And the reason I can do this is because its a non-inteference engine...