New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

Having to replace a CV joint on 2009 Camry?

Old 09-16-2011, 12:48 PM
Default Having to replace a CV joint on 2009 Camry?

Hello,
I am new to these forums and I am seriously trying to determine whether or not I should be concerned about my 2009 Camry. I went in yesterday to have an oil change on the car only to be told by the mechanic that in addition to needing new tires, which I already knew, that I had bad struts in the front and needed a CV joint replaced. I am by no means a mechanic in any sense of the word, however, from what I have read on other sites it is uncommon for a Camry to need this type of work at this mileage. To clarify, since I left it out, my Camry has 58k miles on it. I am concerned that this might be the start of more major problems. This is the first Toyota I have owned and it was purchased brand new with appx 75 miles on it. It has had all the regular scheduled maintenance done on it according to the timetable set by the dealer as well. Any input would be greatly appreciated before I begin dumping money into it before it actually needs it. I would hate to find out after spending this amount of money that it is something extremely rare or that my mechanic may be trying to take advantage of my lack of knowledge.

Last edited by Jeffery Kintz; 09-16-2011 at 12:51 PM.
Old 09-16-2011, 06:44 PM
Super Moderator

What kind of repair shop are you going to, independent, chain, dealer, etc?

Not stating the car does not need the repairs, however you make an excellent point about being taken advantage of, this does happen.

What reason did the mechanic state for needed new struts and CV joint?

What condition are the tires?

You should be able to find photos, drawings on the internet showing various conditions of tires and what is normal wear and not. Inspect the tires yourself and compare.