New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

My first old 1990 Camry LE V6

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2010, 07:41 PM
Talking My first old 1990 Camry LE V6

Hey everyone,
I am a graduate student and just bought my first Toyota Camry...on a limited budget of course. I wanted a reliable car and found a 1990 Camry LE V6 with 55,683 original miles in absolutely excellent condition. The car was owned by an elderly couple, they are the first owners, and they have not driven it since 1999 (hence the LOW miles). I just got the car today and it runs great, but I wanted to ask everyone if they had any suggestions about maintenance I should do since the car has not been driven in 10 years. Sure I will change the oil and filters, but should I treat this as a 55K car or a 20 year car? Should I replace all the fluids...tranny, brake, etc.? Should I replace the belts since they are 20 years old??
Thanks for the help everyone.

Old 01-12-2010, 09:41 PM

I think its safe to say the fluids should all be flushed/changed. As far as belts they will probably start to fail before too long due to dry rot they may still work but they are probably week. A lot of the regular maintenance is due around 50-75k anyways. The car is 20 years old and probably has every part that it came with still on it. Other than the normal stuff like plugs, fluids, and maybe belts. Just give everything else a once over.
Sounds like you got a good deal tho. With a little work it should last forever. I love Toyotas

Old 01-12-2010, 10:46 PM
Super Moderator

Check those parts that can degrade with time even if not used. This being belts, tires, fluids, coolant, etc.

Toyota had no recommended time/mileage period for changing the timing belt but 60K miles was recommended by the belt manufacturers. Suggest you look into this both from a mileage standpoint and the age of the belt being on the car.