New Member Area New to Toyota Camry Forums? Stop in tell us about you.

new member to CF but not new to toyota's

Old 11-18-2011, 08:56 AM
Default new member to CF but not new to toyota's

hey everyone. im looking at getting a camry. i use to have a 88 camry. and was interested in getting another one for a fun daily driver. but i have afew conditions. and this is where you guys can possibly help me.

i am looking for a camry that has a S series motor in it. so what years have either a 3sfe or 5sfe. i want to get a older camry so i can drop a 3sgte in it.

i am new to the camry platform but not new to the S series motors. i currently own a 1991 celica GT with a 5sgte so this will become a reality

Old 11-18-2011, 11:14 AM
Super Moderator

For US model Camry the 5S started in 92 and was used until 01. Prior to this the 3S was used. The 3S engine will have something written on the intake manifold in large letters such as 2000, the 5S something like 2200.

The 5S and 3S have been swapped, the 3SGTE will bolt onto the 4 cylinder trans and from what have read also V6 trans, a V6 was an option. Do some checking on this last item as the V6 trans would be stronger.

Additional features of the V6 option car are heavier front springs plus larger front disk brakes and thought rear disk brakes were standard with this engine option.

Toyota used several model V6 engines but settled in 94 on the 1MZ-FE which was used until 2003. Prior to this a 3VZ-FE V6 between 92-93 and a 2VZ-FE before this. Prior to 94 there was a year or two when several V6 engines were offered thus check this out if going the V6 route.

The trans designed changed over the years the 3SFE used an A140 hydraulic shift and later 5S an A140E electronic shift. For V6, before guessing 92 an A540H hydraulic shift was used then later an 541E electronic. The trans type is printed on a sticker on the side of the drivers door. The electronic shift uses a trans computer built into the engine computer.