need horsepower - Page 2 - Camry Forums - Toyota Camry Forum


Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going FAST.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:01 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 16
Default RE: need horsepower

Drop in a 3SGTE from a GT4 Celica into your Camry, it will make the power your desire!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-30-2008, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 211
Default RE: need horsepower


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Epsilon

Those don't work. It's not really a chip, but just a resistor that you put in parallel with the intake air temp sensor to 'fool' your ecu into thinking the intake air temp is colder than it really is to run a little richer/more gas. The o2 sensors output probably offsets a significantly richer mixture, making the 'mod' of limited merit, since they are not wideband.
I think I may have discovered a use for one of these little suckers! I was reading more about short ram intakes and came across this:
Quote:
Turbulence in the intake airflow produced by the filter or piping, or a change in intake diameter at the point where the airflow is measured can produce inaccurate airflow readings. The error in airflow then translates to an error in the amount of added fuel. In the worst case, the air/fuel ratio can run lean, causing detonation and possibly engine failure although the airflow sensor will generally detect and correct the throttle to compensate for the warmer air. This can also be solved by modifying/elongating the intake piping, replacing the airflow meter, or by replacing/remapping the engine control computer to provide the correct amount of fuel for the intake airflow at all engine speeds.
So, if a short ram intake may make your gas run lean, and this chip may make your gas run rich, then its a good solution for overcoming the deficit caused by a short ram intake. Touche!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 262
Default RE: need horsepower

Hahahahahah wow I knew I felt a reason to pick up that thing! Now if only I listened to my gut instead of the seller's feedback! Oh well, I'll figure it out. Nice one though I didnt expect that!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-02-2008, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 211
Default RE: need horsepower

I feel smart now
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 262
Default RE: need horsepower

Hey i was bein serious,I really wish I had known that! I would guess that lean+rich=avg, and if you consider the added hp you get from the intake and possibly the chip.. damn! that'd be sweet!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 211
Default RE: need horsepower

dont forget that TB spacer and also a good exhaust system (and a hood scoop if you really want to go there!)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-02-2008, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 262
Default RE: need horsepower

oh yea Im definitely goin there with a hood scoop. I figure I can get one of the fake fender scoops from advance or someplace for $15, mount it to my hood above the intake cone, and cut a hole in the hood itself to let the air thru. (If I can manage to get another hood from the junkyard) And people pay so much for the same effect
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-04-2008, 01:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 211
Default RE: need horsepower

now im thinking about getting the z3 fenders . . .




[IMG]local://upfiles/5465/409352FBE8A24B95A4BAC492B5CD704D.jpg[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-04-2008, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 262
Default RE: need horsepower

Yea they do look nice come to think of it, I was only lookin at teh M3 style, with the little grill on them. but those z3 look much better vented. good idea!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-04-2008, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location:
Posts: 211
Default RE: need horsepower

its a good option for a nitrous purge!
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
increase horsepower norcalcam93 Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos 20 09-22-2015 04:47 PM
increase horsepower norcalcam93 Engine & Internal 8 07-28-2007 09:51 AM
Easy Horsepower govolsguy31 Engine & Internal 3 04-27-2007 07:26 PM
More horsepower/Turbo jriver15 General Tech 7 03-14-2007 06:04 AM
Horsepower up my 99' V6 sdeeut New Member Area 1 09-27-2006 04:20 PM


Tags
horsepower, imglocalupfiles5465409352fbe8a24b95a4bac492b5cd704 djpgimg

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.