General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The $500 92 Camry Project

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2015, 06:27 AM
Default The $500 92 Camry Project

So after blowing out the 3rd set of rod bearings in my PT Cruiser in 10 years I put it in the back 40 to help keep the sod from blowing away.

In my hunt for a new source of transportation I ran across a 1992 Camry LE with a V6 for $500. It ran OK and the engine sounded strong as well is it lacked that rod knock the old ride had. And for the price I figured anything that moved down the road had to be worth at least $500. I am a disabled vet so $ don't come easy to me and I figured I could iron out the issues and have a nice older car that would get me around and eventually tune it. An option that is very limited on the old PT. So I will cut to the down and dirty.

1st I have a 1992 Camry Wagon with a V6 and from reading around I believe an A540E tranny. It will drive fine except when taking off from a stop in 1st gear it will max out @ ~2500 rpm and accelerate steady and slow to ~25mph acting like it only has the power of a 3 banger Geo Metro. Just b4 the shift to 2nd it will pick up 2-300 rpm and shift. After it was out of 1st it seamed to have all the normal power and acceleration you would expect from a V6. Off to the local parts store I picked up the basic oil change fuel injector cleaner, sea foam, and some tranny fluid. Topped it off with premium gas and added the fuel treatment. sea foamed it and gave it a 100 mile trip. Cleaned up real nice and gained some power but still dragging in 1st after stopping.