ECU & Electronics Discuss electronics and related components within.

3sfe camry starts then dies

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2011, 05:15 PM
Default 3sfe camry starts then dies

Firstly, Hello!

I'm new to the Camry forums and recently joined in order to elicit help fixing my mom's '91. I hope that I'm not stepping on any toes by jumping right in. I've searched extensively both here and on the internet at large and I can't seem to find anything to help with this particular issue.

As the title says, I'm dealing with a '91 Camry with the 3sfe engine. In the last few months I had lots of problems with burning out ignition coils and finally had a mechanic work on it. He determined that "you're right, it's the coil again... it seems that the water temp sensor was pulling current off of that circuit and overloading the primary". I'm not sure I believe his conclusion based on my understanding of the wiring diagrams but he managed to get it to start when I couldn't so I didn't argue.

Now fast forward a few days and it's down again, this time with a different symptom. The car starts up fine. You might even say it starts "eagerly" but that could be me projecting. But, as soon as it's started, it instantly dies. Blipping the throttle has NO effect so it's not that it's laboring to run. It just straight up dies right away.

So far I've tried a number of things to resolve this.

1) I unplugged the AFM to see if it would run in "limp mode". No difference. Starts then dies.

2) I thought it might be a fuel pump issue like maybe it's priming but then shutting off the pump. I jumped FP to B+ to "hotwire" the pump. No difference, except that now I can hear the pump any time the key is on. I can also hear fuel in the rail so if it probably isn't a clogged filter.