Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your engine's insides here.

Replacing Spark Plugs After 200+K miles!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2019, 05:40 PM
Default Replacing Spark Plugs After 200+K miles!

So my '02 LE 2.4L has 205K and the sparkplugs haven't been changed in at least a decade (if ever). Recently inheriting this old sweethheart I'm trying to catch it up on all the maintenance that it's long over due for. So w/ a relatively warm & bright winter afternoon I finally changed 'em myself. My 2 biggest worries were: 1)breaking a plug removing it and/or 2)getting shocked (go ahead, have a laugh, I'm new to all this & don't deny it). Ordered some NGK Laser Iridiums & a ratchet, 6" extension, & spark plug replacement attachment. Grand total: $73.
Getting the plastic cover off the engine block was a little trying, since I didn't want to break it. I mean, I bench nearly a HUNDRED pounds so I didn't want to overuse my considerable strength. Anyway, finally finagled it off. The Youtube tutes I watched included the wise tip to remove the nut holding the entire rubber coil thing and pull that out w/o detaching the electrical connectors since the tabs are known to break. Once I had those puppies pulled out, the ratchet extension gripped easily onto the old plugs and came lose w little force. This was my other worry was breaking one in the "well" and then being SOL. I did notice a small amount of oil on the 2 cylinder wells closest to the passenger side, but only a little. I asked the family member I got it handed down from and she confirmed that she never got the plugs changed, so they were at 200+K! Bosch's, so maybe that's why.